Canada shuts down border to most non-citizens due to COVID-19

Create: 03/17/2020 - 01:36

In a March 16 press conference, Prime Minister Justin Trudeau announced that Canada will be shutting its borders to non-Canadian citizens, with the exception of permanent residents, the immediate family members of Canadian citizens, diplomats, air crews, and U.S. citizens.

Also, airlines have the ability to deny any one showing symptoms of COVID-19 from boarding any flights.

Additional flight restrictions will take effect on Wednesday March 18, that will see all international flights rerouted to Montreal, Toronto, Calgary or Vancouver.

Currently, there are 377 confirmed cases of COVID-19 in Canada, most stemming from travel outside of Canada.

More updates to come as this pandemic continues to unfold.

Date Published: 
Tuesday, March 17, 2020 - 01:35